Stomach & duodenal ulcer need opinions

Kays65

Hello all my husband had an Endoscopy and it showed he had a few ulcer spots. The GI doc put him on 40mg Prilosec twice a day. I voiced my concern over this as I have read quite a bit about this drug and he pretty much tried to debunk all the info out there. We are waiting on test for h pylori. I guess I just want opinions on this. Hubby has been taking ulcetrol, pure aloe, and licorice root for about 2 months and has seemed to improve somewhat. Now stomach and chest area hurting more and more gas and I am convinced this is from the Prilosec. I really feel I can heal him naturally just wanted opinions. I do have a chiropractor and a very knowledgeable herb store not far from me I can utilize. Thanks for any info you can give!
Kay

kind2creatures

...elusive dreamer
Hello, and welcome to the forum! :) I'm no expert at all and don't have real experience with ulcers, but I know that doctors are quick to prescribe pills like Prilosec that have very bad side effects when taken on a daily basis. So you're right to be concerned.

I've only had experience with general heart burn, occasional acid reflux, etc. I've found that eating a small apple every evening a couple of hours before bedtime has almost eliminate my heartburn during the night, which was a big problem for me.

Also, if there's no health issues for him with salt, a half teaspoon of baking soda in a small amount of water usually eliminates any symptoms of heartburn, and better than the pills.

In the morning I take 2 tablespoons full of organic lemon juice mixed with 1/3 teaspoon of baking soda just to make my system more alkaline as opposed to acidic. Good side effect of this practice is cancer thrives in acid environments, so alkaline is good.