Edible and useful wild plants

mommysunshine

Original Poster
Here's a great article on Stinging Nettles:

https://www.naturalnews.com/027290_stinging_nettles_health_herbs.html

Maria Treben, a European Herbalist, the author of "Health Through God's Pharmacy" said eating 10 stems from a dandelion for 14 days is used as a treatment for "sickly people who feel constantly tired and are without energy." She said the effect is "surprising." I've been buying dandelion at the health food store for several years but decided to start harvesting it myself. It has been a fun adventure to find them as well as finding fresh rose hips. Dandelions are the best crop in my garden.:)

Arrowwind09

Standing at the Portal
Prunella vulgaris - Heal-all or woundwort.
Grows all over the US and Europe.

Heals things that will not heal. Antimicrobial. Best choice for lymph and mastitis, open wounds, internal wounds.

jfh

perpetual student
Wow. Very good. Nettles is a good source of vitamin C too. Not as good as kiwi or others, but never the less, good. The article talks about steeping for tea. Not a good idea at all. Most herbs, including nettles, lose many of there benefits due to heat. It is better to put them in room temp water and let them steep over night. Or better yet, get the powdered nettles and take them in capsules or with water.

Arrowwind09

Standing at the Portal
I've been hanging on herbal forums lately and the majority of herbalist feel that infusions are the best application of most herbs... tinctures and decoctions next but it can vary somewhat from herb to herb as to how best to release its potency. Capsules the least effective. I have no opinion at this point.. but I will be doing a course of Pau de Arco soon, and have been strongly advised by several to make a tea of it... not to take powdered in capsules... I am starting with tablets as that is what I have until my order arrives.