Introduction

MsKathy

I'm not sure where to post this, but i don't want to be a "lurker" so here we go...

I'm a neonatal ICU nurse with over 20 yrs experience. I'm very proud of what i do, most of the time...

My very best friend was diagnosed with stage IV esophageal cancer in the beginning of December. He'd been complaining of pain and vomiting and had lost over 30 pounds since August of 2007. He found out it had metastized to his liver and adrenal gland from a CT scan.

He began a 6 course dose of carboplatin/taxol every 21 days. The DAY of the first chemo he felt he could eat... nerves or chemo? I don't know...

2 days later, he started receiving IV vitamin C, increased to 50g/3 times/week.

Within ONE month, he was eating a regular (healthy) diet, without pain. His liver values are normal/low. His energy level is optimum. (an occasional nap needed)

He has gained over 30 pounds since december, and is now at his "ideal" weight. He works out.. treadmill and stationary bike and bar bels.

There is a CT scan scheduled for april 15th. Before even seeing the scan, his oncologist has set him up for 6 more courses, since it isn't KILLING him and seems to be KILLING the tumors.

I will need to give him GOOD information re: chemo vs natural therapy. And I need to do this this week! Since I'm a nurse, he has let ME become his trusted "filter". (don't ASK how I feel about that...)

In the course of my reading, I have discovered a "whole new world" and I want to be part of it!

(Harry, did I do ok? :) )

MsKathy

Matrix

Admin
Welcome to the forums, MsKathy. Your introduction is the best one so far :) . Your working experience is very impressive...you will be very helpful here, I'm sure.

BTW, we have a introduction forum, I will move your post there.

Iggy Dalrymple

Welcome aboard MsKathy,